August 18, 2016  would have been my friend Kamron Satterwhite’s 39th birthday.  Unfortunately, KamKamron Boysron is no longer with us.  He died in a motorcycle accident 9 years ago.  Kamron left behind two young children (Charles and Cole) and a wife (Keyonna).   He was son to Sandy and Larry.  He was a brother to Kim and Kristy.  He was a friend and brother to so many more.

There have been many events in my life that have helped motivate, guide, and mold me in a positive way.  I would like to talk about one of those moments while remembering and honoring my friend.

At our high school we had an athletics period.  Freshman had first period athletics while the older students had athletics sixth period.  The first day of school my freshman year I went to first period athletics with all my classmates.  Suddenly I was called into the hallway and handed a new schedule.  I was switched to sixth period athletics.

Basically, this meant few things.  First, I was not going to have to worry about playing on the freshman team while wearing shorts that would help me sing soprano in the school choir!  Secondly, it meant that I was moved up to at least the Junior Varsity basketball team.

Kamron Freshman
Kamron is #13 Freshman Year

When sixth period came later that day I nervously walked into the basketball locker room where I was welcomed with lasers shooting out of the eyes of each upperclassman.  It may have not been exactly like that, but in my mind at that moment it was.

Coach Terrell was the head coach and he came in the locker room to go over all the rules and typical “first day” things.  After our team meeting we were asked to write down five goals.  I don’t remember all of my goals, but I remember being pretty bland as if I was going to confession telling a priest that I swore or ate too much candy.

The one goal I do remember writing down was, “To start on Junior Varsity”.  We handed our goal sheets to coach and began to meet with him individually.  When I was called into the office my coaches were not happy.  They expected more.  They wanted to see if I was willing to be better.  They wanted to see if I would fight for Varsity.

I walked out of the meeting timidly.  To be honest, I knew I could start on varsity.  Maybe it sounds cocky, but I felt I was good enough.  However, I was not confident enough to say it. If I could not say it then I was not going to show it.

I left school with Kamron.  He and I were sitting in his room playing one of the first versions of John Madden Football. I would like to think I was winning, but I’d be lying if I said I remembered.  We were still wired from our first day of high school.  As we were playing the game I told Kamron about my sixth period adventure.

He sat up and paused the game.  I remember it like it was yesterday.  He looked right at me and said, “You can make Varsity and start every game the entire time we are in high school.”  He also said how cool it would be to have me do that.  There was not any ounce of jealousy or typical high school animosity.  He was being real and being a friend.

I loved Kamron, but he was not “Mr. Perfect or Mr. Wisdom” in the eyes of most of us.  However, at that moment and on that day he was.

He had the “wisdom” I needed and he shared it at the “perfect” time.  It clicked.  My friend had my back.  It was at that moment I remember thinking and speaking differently about my basketball future.  That is a lot to take from a conversation between two 14-year old boys.  I went on to start every game I played on Varsity until I tore my ACL my senior year.

Barone Freshman
I am #12 Freshman Year

This story is not about me and what jump started an attitude that helped me play college basketball.  It is about the importance of being a friend.  It is about the importance of wanting what is best for someone you care about.  It is about listening to those who want what is best for you.

Take aKamrondvantage of life’s moments.  I never shared the importance of that conversation with Kamron.  I may have mentioned it in a some subtle way, but unfortunately he is not here for me to thank him as a man for something he did for me as a boy.

The Stay At Home Coach

BrianBarone

Here is an article referencing this story that was written when I was coaching at Marquette in 2009.  Click this link… Barone Making The Most Out Of Opportunity

Below is a dark and grainy video of me still “having it” when I was lucky enough to play hoops this summer with Charles and Cole.  Keyonna is filming us playing in the back yard late at night just like Kamron and so many of us use to do.

Kamron's Kids GB
Cole and Charles supporting “Uncle Brian” back in 2013